Area Commander

Chief Inspector Neil McDonald is the Area Commander and is responsible for the daily management of local personnel, performance management, community engagement and partnership working within Aberdeenshire North in order to ensure that key performance indicators and outcomes within the Local Police Plan are delivered. Neil is based at the police office in Peterhead.

Aberdeenshire North Area Command

The Aberdeenshire North Area covers the multi member wards of Banff & District, Troup, Fraserburgh & District, Peterhead North & Rattray, Peterhead South & Cruden and Central Buchan.

These are contained within three Policing areas each with a nominated Local Policing Team Inspector.  The area covers the large towns of Banff, Fraserburgh and Peterhead with additional smaller settlements in the community.

Within Aberdeenshire the Banff & Buchan areas combined cover 1204 square kilometres and a population of around 74,814 people.  With a dramatic coastline the area is characterised by an open agricultural landscape with occasional woodland, interspersed by farms and small settlements. The economy remains largely based on the traditional industries of fishing and agriculture however since the 1970s the economic base has broadened, with Peterhead acting as an important Oil and Gas Service Centre and with the development of the St Fergus Gas Terminal.

The community is served by larger Police stations at Peterhead, Fraserburgh and Banff with smaller stations at Portsoy, Mintlaw and Cruden Bay.

Your Priorities

We are acting on priorities to influence policing activity in your area. For more information see the Multi Member Ward plans in your local pages.
The 2017 - 2020 plans  have been signed off and will be available in June.

PDF files on this page require a PDF reader, such as the free Adobe Acrobat Reader (download).

If you would like this information in an alternative format or language - please phone us on 101 to discuss your needs.