Motorcycle safety course runs for second year

Published 11 March 2019

A training scheme to help reduce the number of collisions involving motorcyclists is being run for a second year by road safety partners in the north of Scotland.

The ‘Rider Refinement North’ one day course will take place on various dates across the summer period in Tayside, the North East and Highland areas. It is part funded by Transport Scotland's Road Safety Framework Fund.

Road Policing Chief Inspector Stewart Mackie explains, “Last year was the first year we ran the course and saw 21 courses held between May and October in Forfar, Perth, Inverurie, Elgin and Dingwall. In total we had around 230 motorcyclists on the course.

“The feedback we received last year was overwhelmingly positive and many riders feedback to us about how it helped them and how they have changed their riding style as a result of the advice.

“Sadly a significant number fatal collisions in the north area of the country involve motorcyclists. With great roads and scenery in Tayside, Grampian and Highland and Islands, motorcyclists from both the local area and from further afield love nothing more than to get out into the countryside to enjoy riding their bikes.

“With the mild weather we’ve been experiencing recently, some motorcyclists have already been getting out on the roads and more will start to get out as the weather improves.

“On our course we want to not only promote safe riding messages, but also encourage riders to think about their riding style and riding behaviour, and take advantage of the expert tuition and advice that we will be providing.

“Led by police motorcyclists, the one day course looks at key risk factors particular to the local area plus we do demonstration rides and filmed rides with feedback from officers afterwards.

“The cost of the course will be £40 per rider this year to cover costs plus lunch and this year we are also including a ladies only day at the end of June in Perth.

“’Rider Refinement North’ is the only course of its kind being offered in Scotland at the moment and I hope that it will influence the behaviour of those who attend the course and help them to become safer riders.”

Although delivered by Police Scotland, ‘Rider Refinement North’ was developed by a number of partner agencies including police, Road Safety North East Scotland, Highland Council, Perth and Kinross Community Safety Partnership, Angus Council, Dundee Council, the Institute of Advanced Motorists and Scottish and Fire Rescue Service.

Anyone interested in attending the course should email operationriderrefinement@scotland.pnn.police.uk with a note of the dates they are interested in. It is anticipated that demand will be high to attend the course and those interested are encouraged to provide details of more than one date that they can attend. The course is open to any qualified motorcyclist, however priority will be given to those living in Tayside, the North East and Highland and Islands.

The dates the course will be running are:

Tayside

  • Saturday 4 May -  Forfar
  • Sunday 5 May- Forfar
  • Saturday 15 June - Perth
  • Sunday 16 June - Perth
  • Sunday 30 June - Perth (Ladies day)
  • Sunday 18 August - Perth
  • Sunday 8 September - Forfar

North East

  • Saturday 11 May - Inverurie 
  • Sunday 12 May - Inverurie
  • Saturday 1 June - Inverurie
  • Sunday 2 June - Inverurie
  • Saturday 13 July - Inverurie
  • Sunday 14 July – Inverurie
  • Sunday 13 October – Inverurie

Highland

  • Saturday 25 May – Dingwall
  • Sunday 26 May – Dingwall
  • Sunday 21 July – Dingwall
  • Sunday 11 August – Dingwall
  • Sunday 15 September – Dingwall
  • Sunday 22 September – Dingwall
  • Sunday 6 October – Dingwall

Contact Details

Call 101 for non-emergencies and general enquiries, in an emergency call 999. If you have information about a crime you can also contact Crimestoppers anonymously on 0800 555 111.


Your Community

Find out more about local policing issues in this area by visiting: Highlands and Islands, North East, Tayside


Originally Published: