Community Policing Inspector Gordon McKnight

Inspector Gordon McKnight is the Community Inspector for Dumfriesshire Area Command. He is responsible for the community teams in Dumfries, Nithsdale and Annandale and Eskdale.

After talking to local residents, you've told us what your main concerns are and these have been outlined under Your Priorities for each ward Area.


This ward covers Amisfield, Torthorwald, Tinwald, Locharbriggs, Heathhall, Collin, and the Noblehill, Summerpark, Greystone and Nunholm areas of Dumfries, delivering services of community and response policing

Your Priorities

We are acting on priorities to influence policing activity in your area. For more information see the Multi Member  Ward Plan.

PDF files on this page require a PDF reader, such as the free Adobe Acrobat Reader (download).

Policing Team

Your Community Policing Team is led by Sergeant Stuart Burns and Sergeant Graeme Stitt covering Nithsdale. Constable Andrew Davis, Constable Calum Duignan, Constable Kerry Bowie, Constable Christopher Trosh, Constable Elaine Kirkpatrick, and Constable Kennedy Anderson are dedicated area community officers.

The team also includes Town Centre Officers in the form of Constable Alistair Hope, Constable Dale McEwan, and Constable David Steele, as well as Secondary School Campus Officers Constable Jim Porteous, and Constable Stephen Easthill.

Further support is provided by Constable Alison Jeffers and Constable Julie Brown who are dedicated to Dumfries and Galloway Royal Infirmary and the Crichton Campus. As well as Constable Ian Pagan of the Anti Social Behaviour Team.

There is also a wider Operational Policing team to respond to immediate emergencies and ongoing incidents throughout the area

How to Contact Us

Our 'Contact Us' emails are not monitored 24/7.

Our Twitter and Facebook sites are not for reporting crime and they are not monitored 24/7.

In an emergency always dial 999.

For non-urgent crime, you can contact your local police office by telephoning 101.


Your Police Station

Dumfries and Galloway Divisional Headquarters

Cornwall Mount, Dumfries, DG1 1PZ