Divisional Commander

Chief Superintendent Mark McLaren joined Grampian Police in 1985, spending much of his career in Aberdeen, working in uniform, beat and mobile support roles.
In 1996, he was promoted to Sergeant based in Aberdeenshire before secondments to both the Association of Chief Police Officers Scotland (ACPOS) and the Scottish Traffic Standing Committee. 
In 2004, following a period as a uniform operational Inspector and Chief Inspector, Mark was appointed as Head of Roads Policing in Grampian.

In 2006, he was promoted to Head of Criminal Justice and Support.

In 2009, following a period as a uniform operational Superintendent in Aberdeen Division, he was promoted to Chief Superintendent and appointed as Divisional Commander for Aberdeenshire Division.

Mark is Local Police Commander for Aberdeenshire and Moray Division.

Aberdeenshire and Moray Division

Aberdeenshire and Moray Division serves around 333,040 people over 8,551 square kilometers of largely rural areas in the North East of Scotland. Geographically the area extends from Laurencekirk and St Cyrus in the South of Aberdeenshire around the city of Aberdeen to the fishing and coastal communities of the North East through Peterhead and Fraserburgh in the North. To the west it extends through mountainous Deeside and Donside and areas of the Cairngorm National Park into Tomintoul, Rothes and Forres towards the Moray Firth with all the larger towns and rural communities enclosed. 

The Division has three territorial command areas aligned within the respective local council boundaries with each having a dedicated Area Commander who has the responsibility for all day-to-day policing functions in that area.

Each area is served by a number of community policing teams. These teams are built around the needs of local people. They are responsible for responding to calls in the local area, as well as looking for long term solutions to key issues.

Your Priorities

  1. Acquisitive Crime.
  2. Antisocial Behaviour, Violence and Disorder.
  3. National Security.
  4. Public Protection.
  5. Road Safety and Road Crime.
  6. Serious Organised Crime and Drugs.